1993: Mark Gibson

Laboratory Services Coordinator Mark D. Gibson of the Center for Materials Research has been named the 1993 recipient of the Amy J. Blue Award for staff excellence.

The award was presented by President Gerhard Casper at a Buck Estate ceremony Monday, April 26.

The award honors the memory of Amy J. Blue, assistant vice president for administrative services, who died in 1988. It is accompanied by a $1,000 stipend, which the recipient may use to support expenses related to professional development activities of his or her choice.

The awards committee also presented five 1993 “Amy” awards to “five really inspiring people who make a difference” at Stanford, said Susan W. Schofield, project team leader for the Business Practices Initiative, who served as chair of the selection committee.

The “Amy” winners are:

Mutsuko Davis, library specialist for the Stanford University Libraries. Davis, who has worked for the catalog department of the university’s libraries for more than a quarter-century, was named for her dedication to accomplishment, commitment to the Stanford community, and her energy and enthusiasm. She was cited, in particular, for going beyond the requirements of her position to improve online procedures and “to help colleagues who are flailing in their assignments.” She also was cited for serving on the Asian Staff Forum and helping plant trees on campus, as well as for her willingness to share expertise with colleagues and patrons of the library.

Catalina Ilea, department administrator for Slavic Languages and Literatures. Ilea, who is solely responsible for the administrative support of the academic and financial operation of the department, was named for her willingness “to do whatever it takes to get a job done well and on time” and for accomplishing every task with “unfailing accuracy in details,” while “never losing sight of the personal dimension of the job” and “always considering the ramifications of administrative decisions for the students involved.” She also was cited for her “broad vision of the department’s and the school’s place in the ongoing competition with other universities.”

Carol Mariscal, research nurse in the Department of Radiation Oncology. Mariscal works with cancer patients and their families, and was cited for both the professionalism and the compassion that she brings to a difficult job. Termed “the backbone of the department” by one doctor, she was recognized especially “for always making patients her first priority, for making home visits when patients are too ill to come to the clinic, for making a difference in many people’s lives, often the sickest and the terminally ill, and for caring for the emotional and social needs of patients as well as their physical needs.”

Roween Nacionales, assistant food service manager at Florence Moore Hall. Nacionales is known within University Food Services for her competence and willingness to volunteer for extra duties, and for friendliness and the ability to maintain a close rapport with both staff and students. She was recognized for her contributions to “quality service and a better dorm environment.” One nominator wrote, “Roween makes dining at Flo Mo a pleasing experience — even when the food does not compare to mom’s cooking.”

Joseph Riddle, supervisor in the Controller’s Office. Riddle, whose co-workers call him “the greatest asset that the university’s payroll office has,” is known campuswide for his ability to deal with complicated transactions and answer complex questions. He serves as payroll’s trouble-shooter and frequently monitors processes after hours from home. He also is responsible for such things as the production of more than 9,000 staff ID cards and the creation of some 22,000 W-2 forms annually. In addition, he was acknowledged for his role in creating a more user-friendly faculty/staff directory.

The 1993 selection committee included: Robert C. Gregg, dean of the chapel; Lowell Price, senior associate provost and Cabinet secretary; Margarita Tellez, transportation demand management coordinator; Peter Tuttle, computer systems specialist; and Carol Vonder Linden, assistant dean of research. Tuttle won the Amy J. Blue Award in 1992, Vonder Linden in 1991, the first year it was given.

One hundred and thirty staff names were submitted to the committee by 310 nominators, of whom 65 were faculty, 230 staff and 15 students.